02-11-15

Good Morning to All my Readers….

This post belongs to category ‘dinacharya’. Well it’s a Sanskrit terminology for daily routine. So am planning to keep these posts live on daily basis, hopefully. A little background into the thought process behind the category name selection……..

So the other day, I was going through some Youtube channels  where I stumbled upon the term ‘vlogs’. Ok definition follows:  “A video log. A journalistic video documentation on the web of a person’s life, thoughts, opinions, and interests. A vlog can be topical and timeless, instructional and entertaining. The main thread is trying to communicate on a personal level with your audience.” (Courtesy: http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=vlog)

Now that’s when it clicked me. Does such a term exists for blogs too? Scratching heads??? C’mon I should ask my best friend for help and assistance. (Google is my best friend!)

Well I can’t say I found out a terminology though I tried searching with Dlogs (for Daily logs), Rlogs (for Read logs) but I did find something informative and new, atleast for me.

Now what did I find, the term blog is a truncation of the word ‘weblog’, that’s cool.

Ok definition time: “A weblog or blog, is a listing of text, images, or other objects that are arranged in a chronological order that first started appearing in 1998. Blogs are often maintained and run by a single individual, updated daily, or contain personal remarks about a topic, a personal ramble, or an update on the person’s life. In many ways, many weblogs are like a personal journal or a look into another individual’s life and can be a way to learn about people, events, places, and more from people around the world”(Courtesy: http://www.computerhope.com/jargon/w/weblog.htm)

Anyway, I didn’t want to coin up a new term so thought why not base myself in an ancient literary language – Sanskrit. That’s how this category came into existence. Ok that’s the end of today’s knowledge transfer (KT).

Leave a Reply

